Dianne Fogwell
Mildura meander  2015
linocut (artist book); unique state
Reproduced courtesy of the artist, Port Jackson Press, Melbourne, and Beaver Galleries, Canberra
Winner—2017 Geelong acquisitive print award

2017 Geelong acquisitive print awards

14 August 2017 to 08 October 2017

This nationally acclaimed acquisitive prize exhibition featured entries from around Australia by established and emerging printmakers representing the diversity of current practice through both traditional printmaking techniques as well as contemporary processes.

38 works by 39 leading and emerging Australian artists were shortlisted for the 2017 Geelong acquisitive print awards. The acquisitive awards and biennial exhibition featured works by Benjamin Armstrong, Rosalind Atkins, Elizabeth Banfield, GW Bot, Laura Castell, Jock Clutterbuck, Marian Crawford, Ben Fennessy, Dianne Fogwell, Peter Garnick, Kaye Green, Sue Grossman, Andrew Gunnell, Gracia Haby and Louise Jennison, Robert Hague, Rew Hanks, Carolyn Hawkins, Clare Humphries, Anita Iacovella, Michael Kempson, Deborah Klein, Jo Langley, Marion Manifold, Megan McPherson, David Nixon, Jiri Tibor Novak, Sharron Okines, Glenda Orr, Janet Parker-Smith, Jim Pavlidis, Stieg Persson, Ben Rak, Brian Robinson, Kati Thamo, Bridgit Thomas, Vanessa Wallace, Halina Wolski and Joel Wolter.

The Geelong acquisitive print award of $5,000 was awarded to Dianne Fogwell for her artist book Mildura meander 2015, the Ursula Hoff Institute award of $3,500, was awarded to Clare Humphries for A fraction of a small distance 2017 and additional acquisitions of Benjamin Armstrong's Plan and elevation 2017 and Marian Crawford's artist book, Picturing the island 2016 were presented.

For the first time, one additional artist, Peter Garnick, was selected by the judging panel and invited to take up a 5-day printmaking residency at Queenscliff Gallery and Workshop (QG&W)


Dianne Fogwell is the 2017 recipient of the Geelong acquisitive print award and Clare Humphries is the recipient of the Ursula Hoff Institute award

The 2017 Geelong acquisitive print awards are sponsored by the Estate of Dr Colin Holden, Louise Box, the Ursula Hoff Institute (UHI) and Queenscliff Gallery & Workshop.